Decaffeinate

Decaffinate-01

It’s a fast-paced world we live in. So many products market time-saving, fastest delivery, on and on. People use the phrase, “stop and smell the roses” but find it hard to actually live it. That phrase inspired this poem. I wanted to modernize the sentiment. Coffee seemed like a good place to start.

You either go to a cafe for an energy jolt or to sit down and take ten minutes enjoying the flavor, maybe even socialize off-screen. If life is like coffee, I want to slow the pace to truly enjoy every flavor I can. I want to decaffeinate enough to appreciate the aesthetics of the coffee shop I’m in and take a moment to inhale the scent of freshly ground beans while listening to the daily bustle swirling around me. That’s how I take my coffee.

How do you take yours?

5 thoughts on “Decaffeinate

  1. I agree that sometimes it can be hard to relax, especially when you have so many things to do. But I definitely take little moments to calm my mind throughout the day so that I don’t get overwhelmed. Even reading that poem was relaxing!

Leave a Reply

