Traveling Back in Time at The State Fair

State fairs always feel like a journey back in time to me. The celebration of agricultural successes, the “screw health!” cuisine, the historic buildings full of sweating spectators…it’s all a little nostalgic. 




Even the kids playing in street fountains makes me think of the days before AC, when water was the only way to cool down on a hot summer day. 

Walking through gardens and watching sky gliders pass over us, I wondered how much has changed since our first star fair in 1854. 

If I could travel back in time and bring a few original state fairgoers to present day, what would they say? Would they stand in awe amidst the towering carnival rides?


Or would their chests swell with pride when they saw that people are still gathering to showcase their produce, art and livestock? 

While I can’t show the future to anyone in the past, I can see echoes of their influence even in today’s fair. I watch people take part in honored traditions of times past. I see whispers of century-old influences all over. And it makes me feel oddly satisfied, knowing that such an event of local pride and camraderie can withstand the test of time. 

9 thoughts on “Traveling Back in Time at The State Fair

Leave a Reply

